Osborn Elliott Journalism Prize 2024 (Up to $10,000 Prize) | How to Apply

The Osborn Elliott Journalism Prize 2024 is now accepting applications. This prestigious prize is awarded on an annual basis to recognize outstanding journalism focused on Asia during the previous calendar year of 2023.

Osborn Elliott Journalism Prize

The prize, also known as the “Oz Prize,” pays tribute to the esteemed journalist Osborn Elliott, who served as the editor-in-chief of Newsweek and was renowned for his high standards in reporting and editing. Elliott was also a pioneer of “civic journalism,” which involves prioritizing significant public policy matters in journalistic endeavors.


  • A prize of $10,000 will be awarded to a chosen reporter or team of reporters.

Eligibility Requirement

  • Individuals or teams can submit a single written story or a series of stories centered on a particular theme for consideration.
  • The definition of “Asia” for this award spans from Japan to Iran, and from Central Asia to New Zealand, Australia, and the Pacific Islands, excluding the Arab Middle East.
  • Each writer or team is allowed only one nomination or application. However, submissions by a single reporter will be given extra consideration.
  • It is highly encouraged for media outlets based in Asia to submit their entries.

Evaluation Criteria

  • The evaluation criteria for this work encompass its impact, uniqueness, innovation, thoroughness of research, and educational significance in raising awareness about Asia among the general public.

Application process

Only electronic submissions will be considered, and they must be received no later than April 15, 2024, which is a Monday.

To kick-start your application, here click to apply.

Visit the official website of the Osborn Elliott Journalism Prize for additional information.

Application Deadline

April 15, 2024.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here