IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards 2024 | APPLY NOW

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF)’s annual Courage in Journalism Awards celebrate women and non-binary journalists demonstrating exceptional courage, determination, and resilience. They go to great lengths to uncover the truth, setting new standards for reporting under difficult circumstances or in the face of censorship.

IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards 2024
IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards 2024

Press freedom is under threat worldwide due to issues such as sexual harassment, threats, attacks, and government oppression. A persistent glass ceiling, unequal pay, allegations of fake news, and growing distrust of the media. Women journalists often bear the brunt of these challenges, with a UNESCO report indicating that 73 percent of surveyed women journalists had experienced online violence as a result of their work.

Program Details

The Courage in Journalism Awards highlight the resilience of women journalists and emphasize that they are not backing down, cannot be silenced, and deserve recognition for their strength in the face of challenges. The awards honor courageous journalists who cover sensitive topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths.

The Courage in Journalism Awards also include the Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award, which annually sheds light on the plight of women journalists who are detained, jailed, or imprisoned. Many cases receive global attention upon arrest but fade from public view as new incidents emerge. Sharing the stories of imprisoned women journalists is crucial for ensuring their safety and well-being.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees for the Courage in Journalism Awards should be women or nonbinary individuals who work full-time as staff or freelance reporters. Writers, editors, photographers, or producers in any country, regardless of nationality.
  • Individual nominations will not be considered.

How To Apply For IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards 2024

To be a participant of the IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards, you can submit your Nomination using the designated forms below:

Nominate in English

The Nominate in Spanish

Nominate in French

Visit the official website of IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards for more information.

Nomination Deadline

March 3, 2024.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here