EU Award for Gender Equality Champions 2024 (Up to €100,000) – APPLY NOW

Nominations are now being accepted for the EU Award for Gender Equality Champions 2024. The award seeks to establish a community of champions inspiring both academic and research organizations to become gender equality champions themselves. It also aims to raise public awareness of the importance of addressing gender equality in academic and research organizations through institutional change.

EU Award for Gender Equality Champions 2024
EU Award for Gender Equality Champions 2024

The EU Award for Gender Equality Champions is designed by the European Commission, and managed by the European Research Executive Agency. The prize is available to universities, higher education institutions, and other research-performing public or private organizations set up in an EU country or a country associated with Horizon Europe.


There are three (3) prize categories, they will be awarded to four (4) academic or research organizations, and contestants can only apply to one among the categories:

  • Sustainable Gender Equality Champions: Organizations showcasing a sustained record of activity and notable achievement through the effective implementation of their Gender Equality Plan (GEP).
  • Newcomer Gender Equality Champions: Organizations that have recently initiated the implementation of a GEP and can demonstrate substantial progress and tangible results.
  • Inclusive Gender Equality Champions: Organizations with innovative GEPs addressing intersections with other social categories such as ethnicity, social origin, sexual orientation gender identity (LGBTI+), or disability.


Each winner in the Sustainable Gender Equality Champions category will receive €100,000.

The total prize budget is €0.4 million, with two winners in the Sustainable category, one in the Newcomer category, and one in the Inclusive category

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the EU Award for Gender Equality Champions 2024, applicants must:

  • Be an entity whether public or private body, operating legally.
  • Be a research-performing organization, including a higher education establishment (e.g., a university).
  • Be established in an eligible country (EU Member State or associated non-EU country).
  • Comply with mandatory requirements of the Horizon Europe Gender Equality Plan eligibility criterion. Including publication, dedicated resources, data collection and monitoring, and training.
  • Candidates who already received an EU or Euratom prize. Are not allowed to receive a second prize for the same activities. Also, Winners of any category of the 2022 edition of EU Award for Gender Equality Champions are not eligible for any category of this prize.
  • Applicants are expected to register in the Participant Register before the deadline date. They will also be validated by the Central Validation Service (REA Validation).

How to Apply

Candidates who meet the above requirements can apply for the prize online via the Funding and Tenders Portal.

You can also download the application forms below for the different categories:

For more information, visit the European Commission.


  • 12 December 2023: Contest opens.
  • 25 January 2024 (17:00 CET): Deadline for applications.
  • Q1-Q2 2024: Evaluations.
  • Q2 2024: Announcement of prize winners and award ceremony in Brussels.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here