Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024 | Apply Now!

The African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) is currently welcoming entries for the 2024 Uganda National Journalism Awards (UNJA). This significant occasion signifies ten years of acknowledging and honoring exceptional journalistic contributions in Uganda’s media industry.

Uganda National Journalism Awards

Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

Journalists, media organizations, and platforms from all over the country are encouraged to submit their entries and be part of this special 10th-anniversary edition of the awards.

The Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024 consists of 21 competition categories, which are divided into two main segments:

  • Three institutional awards that recognize media management, leadership, transformation, and innovation.
  • Eighteen thematic awards that acknowledge outstanding coverage of specific subjects.


  • Get the recognition you deserve on a national level for your dedication to impactful journalism. By becoming one of the esteemed award winners, you will secure your place in Ugandan media history.
  • By contributing to high-quality journalism that empowers and informs the nation, you can play a key role in shaping the future of Ugandan media.
  • Use the competition as an opportunity to benchmark your work against industry standards. Participating in the awards allows you to evaluate your journalism against the top standards in Uganda. The judging, overseen by skilled and respected media experts, offers valuable feedback to assist you in improving your abilities and perfecting your craft.
  • Let the competition rekindle your passion for storytelling and motivate you to venture into new territories within your field. Share your finest work with a larger audience.
  • Participating in the awards can instill a sense of pride and accomplishment within your team. Recognizing their hard work can boost morale and motivate your staff to continue producing impactful journalism.

Eligibility Requirements

  • The competition is open to all journalists, including freelancers, full-time journalists, and independent content producers working in Uganda.
  • Entries are accepted from individuals producing journalistic content on any platform, whether online or offline. Independent content producers who have published relevant journalistic content are also encouraged to submit entries.
  • Submitted work must have been published or broadcast by a Ugandan media outlet or a regional news outlet widely accessible in Uganda.
  • The competition consists of 21 categories, including 3 institutional-based awards and 18 subject-based awards.
  • For subject-based entries, all work must have been broadcast, published, or implemented between January 1st and December 31st.
  • The deadline for submitting entries for the Uganda National Journalism Awards is April 30th, 2024 at midnight. Participation in the competition is free.

Entry formats for subject-based categories:

  • Print Entries: For print entries, submit clear and legible PDF documents with visible publication dates. Photographs/illustrations should be included in PDF format or as cuttings of the original published copies.
  • Radio/podcast entries: Submit full audio form and the t should not exceed 60 minutes. Large files can be sent using Google Drive or other large file FTP services.
  • Television/video entries: emailed entries should be in MP4, AVI, or MOV format and not exceed 60 minutes. Large files can be sent using Google Drive or other large-file FTP services. If using a third-party platform, indicate this in the submission form.
  • Online entries: Include offline versions of online published work in a readable PDF format. Submit live or archived links to the articles to confirm their publication or broadcast.

How to Apply

All entries must be submitted through an online platform using either the UNJA 2024 institutional awards submission form  or the UNJA 2024 topical categories submission form .

For more information please visit the office website of Uganda National Journalism Awards.

Application Deadline

April 30, 2024.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here