Tanzania’s SGR Welcomes its First Electric Trains

Tanzania’s Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) project has achieved a significant milestone with the arrival of its inaugural fleet of electric trains, heralding a major infrastructure enhancement for the nation.

<yoastmark class=

Tanzania’s SGR Welcomes its First Electric Trains

Part of the comprehensive East African railway master plan, the SGR initiative aims to establish a robust railway network linking Tanzania with neighboring Rwanda, Uganda, and Burundi, and further extending connectivity to the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The Tanzania Railway Corporation (TRC) announced on Saturday the acquisition of the first Electric Multiple Unit (EMU) trains from Hyundai Rotem, a renowned South Korean manufacturer.

This procurement marks a pivotal advancement in expediting the SGR project while ensuring enhanced comfort and efficiency for passenger transportation.

Under the procurement agreement, the Tanzanian government, acting through the TRC, has secured ten sets of EMU trains. Each unit boasts a capacity to accommodate up to 589 passengers and operates at impressive speeds of up to 160 km/h.

Tanzania’s Railway Infrastructure to Enhance Intra-Regional Connectivity

The TRC underscored that the EMU trains are equipped with state-of-the-art features, including modern technology facilitating essential passenger amenities such as internet connectivity (WiFi), designated seating areas for individuals with special needs, efficient cooling systems, and comprehensive security surveillance through CCTV cameras.

According to the TRC’s statement, the initial delivery comprises one EMU train, with successive shipments scheduled monthly until October 2024, demonstrating a concerted effort to swiftly bolster Tanzania’s railway infrastructure and enhance intra-regional connectivity.

This momentous development underscores Tanzania’s commitment to fostering sustainable transportation solutions and advancing its economic integration within the East African region.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here