TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award 2024 For Women Scientists (Up to USD4,000 Cash Prize)

TWAS is welcoming nominations for the 2024 Award from its members, as well as science academies, national research councils, universities, and scientific institutions in both developing and developed countries.

TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award. This yearly recognition, named after esteemed TWAS Fellow Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi, aims to honor women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) countries. The award includes a cash prize of USD 4,000, which has been generously provided by Professor Al-Kharafi and will be presented in different fields of science. In 2024, the award will highlight achievements in Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, or Engineering Sciences.


The award includes a cash prize of USD 4,000, which has been generously provided by Professor Al-Kharafi and will be given in different fields of science on a rotating basis.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominations for the 2024 award are open to female scientists in the fields of Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, or Engineering Sciences.
  • Nominees are required to be female scientists from ST-lagging countries, and they must have been residing and working in their respective country for at least two years immediately before their nomination (i.e. from 1/2/2022).

Nomination Requirements

  • A complete nomination must include the following information/material:
  • Contact details of the nominator;
  • Contact details of the nominee (self-nominations and nominations from jury members are not accepted) and general information about the nominee, including the country where they have worked and lived in the past two years;
  • Authorization from the nominee (i.e. the candidate) to process their data for the nomination, by Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. You can only submit this authorization using the online platform. The privacy authorization form is available for download in the ‘nominee’s personal data’ section. The form must be completed and signed by the candidate and then uploaded onto the online platform;
  • Recommended citation (15-20 words showcasing the nominee’s accomplishments in social sciences such as economics, politics, and sociology);
  • Supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution in Agricultural Sciences or Biology. Supporting statements should provide a detailed explanation of the candidate’s work and its significance in the relevant scientific context. There should be clear references to the scientific impact of the nominee’s work. Unclear supporting statements will be disregarded and could hurt the evaluation;
  • A comprehensive and specific report of any foreign travel by the nominee within the last two years is required;
  • Information on the nominee’s PhD subject area, year, and awarding institution;
  • Brief details about membership in academics and societies.
  • Brief information on awards and honors received;
  • List of the 10 most significant publications in an internationally acceptable format;
  • The nominee’s brief CV and a complete list of publications must be uploaded separately onto the online platform;
  • The Nominee’s h-index on Google Scholar and the corresponding number of citations.

Nomination procedure

  • To participate in the TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award 2024, please complete the nomination form.
  • While completing the form, ensure that you meet the requirements for each field (e.g. maximum character count, file type, date format, etc.).
  • Use the form menu to run a check and confirm that all required fields are filled and the entered data is accepted. This action will also save your form.
  • Each time a check is run, the form will navigate to the “Submit” section. You can use the form menu to move to previous sections
  • Any fields with unaccepted or missing data after running a check will be highlighted in red.

For More Information Visit the Official Webpage of the TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award.

Application Deadline

May 10, 2024.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here