The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Awards 2026 (Up to $10,000 Award Each) – APPLY NOW

The TWAS Awards, previously known as ‘TWAS Prizes,’ are bestowed upon individual scientists from developing countries in recognition of their exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge in nine different fields of science and/or to the application of science and technology for sustainable development.

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Awards 2026
The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Awards 2026

By the decision made by the TWAS Council in November 2018, the cycle for the TWAS Awards will be held every two years. Furthermore, at the TWAS Council meeting in Hangzhou, China, on 11 November 2019, the proposal by UNESCO to change the term ‘prize’ to ‘award’ for all existing and new TWAS distinctions other than medals was approved, thus renaming this recognition program ‘TWAS Awards’.”

TWAS Awards

  • TWAS provides nine awards amounting to USD 10,000 each in the fields of Agriculture, Nutrition & Food Systems Sciences; Biological Sciences; Chemical Sciences; Earth, Climate & Environmental Sciences; Engineering and computer Sciences; Mathematical Sciences; Medical and Health Sciences; Physics, Astronomy, and Space Sciences; and Social Sciences. There was a decision made by the TWAS Council in December 2018 to reduce the amount, which was then revised during the Council meeting held in Hangzhou, China, on 11 November 2019.
  • Each award includes a plaque.
  • Awards are typically presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicants for a TWAS Award should be scientists who have resided and worked in a developing country for a minimum of ten years leading up to their nomination. They must satisfy at least one of the following criteria:
  • Remarkable scientific research accomplishments that have significantly impacted the advancement of scientific knowledge.
  • Exceptional contribution to the utilization of science and technology for sustainable development.
  • The exceptional contribution should be evaluated in connection to the candidate’s available opportunities and feasible possibilities. This is particularly relevant for candidates from scientifically disadvantaged nations.
  • TWAS members are ineligible for TWAS Awards.
  • Nominations from jury members within their respective scientific disciplines as Independent Expert Committee members will not be accepted.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.


A nomination will be deemed complete when it includes the following information/material:

  • Contact details of the nominator
  • Contact details of the nominee, along with general information about the nominee and the country where they have worked and lived in the past 10 years
  • The specific scientific field for which the nomination is being made (only one)
  • A suggested citation (20-25 words highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements)
  • A supporting statement that carefully explains the nominee’s work, its significance, and justification for its outstanding nature, considering the candidate’s existing opportunities and realistic possibilities, particularly for candidates from scientifically disadvantaged countries
  • A biographical sketch of the nominee in narrative style, including information on any time spent abroad from the home country in the past ten years
  • Details of degrees obtained
  • Professional appointments
  • Concise details regarding membership in academic institutions and organizations
  • Brief information on awards and honors received
  • A list of the 12 most significant publications in an internationally accepted format
  • Google Scholar h-index and number of citations
  • Contact details (especially email addresses) of five referees from diverse geographic locations, who can be contacted by TWAS regarding the nominee’s work. Referees must submit their reports through the online platform, and the focus of their letter should be on the impact of the nominee’s work.
  • A brief CV of the nominee and a complete list of their publications, uploaded separately onto the online platform (only pdf files are allowed)
  • Authorization from the nominee to process their data for their nomination, by Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization can only be submitted through the online platform, and nominees will be contacted by TWAS via the email address provided in the nomination form to submit their acceptance, if they wish, by the indicated deadline.

To nominate, click here.

For more details please visit TWAS Awards.

Application Deadline

March 31, 2024.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here