Join the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest (An In-Depth Guide) | Apply Now

Are you a journalist who wants recognition for your exceptional work? The IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest is here for you. Organized annually by the Inter-American Press Association (IAPA), this esteemed event celebrates journalism excellence throughout the Americas.

Join the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest
Join the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest

Whether you’re an experienced professional or just starting, entering this contest could boost your career and acknowledge your contributions to the field. In this guide, we’ll cover all you need to know about the contest, from deadlines and eligibility to tips for a successful application.


The contest aims to recognize and celebrate outstanding journalism that upholds principles like press freedom, transparency, and accountability. By honoring exemplary work from across the Americas, the contest aims to inspire excellence in journalism and promote the critical role of a free and independent press in democratic societies.


Deadline: 31 May 2024

The deadline for the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest varies each year, so check the official website for updates. Participating offers the chance for international recognition, networking opportunities with industry peers, and the possibility of winning prestigious awards.

Funding Amount

Most categories will award a first prize of $2,000 (two thousand U.S. dollars).


Here’s why you should join the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest:

  • Recognition:

Get noticed for your outstanding work globally.

  • Networking:

Connect with industry peers and professionals across the Americas.

  • Prizes:

Have the chance to win prestigious awards, including cash prizes.

  • Career Development:

Boost your career by showcasing your skills and achievements.

  • Learning Opportunities:

Learn from talented journalists and broaden your knowledge.

  • Promoting Press Freedom:

Help promote press freedom, transparency, and accountability in democratic societies.


These are the eligibility to Join the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest: An In-Depth Guide:

  • Journalists from countries throughout the Americas can join the contest.
  • Both individuals and media outlets have the opportunity to participate.
  • Entries must include work published or broadcasted within the specified timeframe.
  • Various types of journalism, such as articles, photographs, videos, multimedia projects, and investigative reports, qualify for entry.
  • There are no age or experience level requirements.


These are the Ineligibility to Join the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest: An In-Depth Guide:

  • Entries failing to meet the specified criteria or deadlines will not be considered.
  • Plagiarized or fraudulent work will be rejected.
  • Individuals or media outlets from regions beyond the Americas cannot take part.
  • Previously awarded entries may be ineligible for resubmission, subject to contest rules.
  • Work conflicting with the principles of press freedom, transparency, or accountability will not be accepted.

Eligible Participants

Journalists of all backgrounds and experience levels are encouraged to enter, including reporters, editors, photographers, videographers, and multimedia journalists. Both freelancers and staff members of media outlets can submit entries if their work meets the contest’s criteria.

Eligible Countries Overview

The IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest is open to participants from countries across the Americas, such as the United States, Canada, Mexico, and various Central and South American countries. Find a complete list on the contest’s official website.

Application Process

The application process typically involves:

  • Register: Create an account on the official website and complete registration.
  • Select Categories: Choose the categories you want to submit your work to.
  • Submit: Upload your entry materials, including documentation, before the deadline.
  • Pay (if applicable): Some entries may require a fee; check and follow payment instructions.
  • Confirmation: Expect confirmation of your submission via email or the contest’s online portal.

Documentation Requirements

Documentation Requirements for Participating in the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest:

  • Provide evidence that your work was published or broadcasted within the specified timeframe.
  • If applicable, include links to online articles.
  • Submit PDF copies of print publications where your work was featured.
  • Include recordings of broadcast segments showcasing your work.
  • Review and follow the specific documentation requirements for each category to ensure eligibility.

Tips for a Successful Application

Boost your chances of success with these tips:

  • Select Your Best Work:

Choose pieces that showcase your skills and voice as a journalist.

  • Follow Guidelines:

Read and stick to the contest guidelines, including category descriptions and documentation requirements.

  • Proofread:

Check your submissions for grammar, spelling, and factual errors.

  • Highlight Impact:

Emphasize your work’s significance and its effect on your audience or community.

  • Include Extras:

Add supplementary materials like photos, videos, or infographics if applicable.


The IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest presents different categories for participation, each addressing various aspects of journalism. Here are the available categories:

  • Investigative Reporting:

This category focuses on thorough investigative journalism aimed at uncovering hidden truths, exposing corruption, or highlighting important social issues. Entries typically involve extensive research, interviews, and analysis to create impactful investigative pieces.

  • Feature Writing:

Feature writing celebrates storytelling and narrative journalism. Entries in this category often explore human interest stories, profiles, or in-depth examinations of diverse topics. Feature writers aim to captivate readers through engaging narratives and vivid descriptions.

  • Photography:

The photography category showcases visual storytelling through captivating images. Entries may include individual photographs or photo essays capturing significant moments, emotions, or events. Photographers use their skills to convey powerful messages and evoke strong reactions from viewers.

  • Multimedia Storytelling:

Multimedia storytelling integrates various mediums, such as text, images, audio, and video, to create immersive and interactive storytelling experiences. Entries in this category often leverage multimedia elements to enrich storytelling and engage audiences in innovative ways.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can enter the contest?

Journalists from countries across the Americas, including individuals and media outlets.

What types of work can be submitted?

Entries can include articles, photos, videos, multimedia projects, and investigative reports published or broadcasted within the contest period.

How many categories are there, and what are they?

The contest usually includes multiple categories like investigative reporting, feature writing, photography, multimedia storytelling, and more. Check the official website for a full list.

In Conclusion:

Participating in the IAPA Excellence in Journalism Contest provides journalists with an excellent opportunity for recognition, networking, and contributing to press freedom and accountability in the Americas. Whether you’re an experienced journalist or just starting, seize this chance to showcase your skills and make a meaningful impact through this prestigious competition.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here