COMESA Media Awards 2024 For Journalists – APPLY NOW

The COMESA Media Awards call for 2024 entries has been announced by the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA). Each year, the Award scheme is observed to honor and recognize journalists who have published and produced broadcast stories on the subject, so aiding in regional integration.

COMESA Media Awards 2024 For Journalists
COMESA Media Awards 2024 For Journalists

The Preferential Trade Area (PTA), which had been in existence since early 1981, was replaced by COMESA when it was established in December 1994. As an organization of free independent sovereign states that have agreed to cooperate in developing their natural and human resources for the good of all their people, COMESA was established (as defined by its Treaty).

The Objective of the Awards

The Media Awards aim to encourage coverage of COMESA regional integration programs, thereby increasing public knowledge, comprehension, involvement, and sense of ownership.

The following criteria are part of the eligible entry requirements:

  • Relevance: Concerns about commerce, transportation, aviation, energy, transportation, ICT, investments, gender, and agriculture, among other economic and developmental concerns pertinent to regional integration, should be covered in the entry.
  • Regional dimension: The entry must apply to or apply to multiple regional States to have a regional dimension.
  • Knowledge of COMESA: The entry ought to exhibit familiarity with the regional integration initiatives of COMESA.


  • Published and broadcast works in print, radio, television, and online media are eligible for the COMESA Media Awards.
  • The competition is open only to journalists who are members of COMESA.
  • Individual journalists may enter the competition; media organizations or institutions are not eligible.
  • Submission of entries: The works must have been published or aired by an established media organization in any of the 21 COMESA Member States between January 1, 2023, and December 31, 2023.
  • Languages: English, French, or Arabic are the official COMESA languages. All works submitted for the competition must be in one of these languages.


Entries must consist of the following:

  • Print Journalism: Features and pieces that appear in major newspapers, periodicals, and journals. And newsletters should be between 700 and 1,500 words long.
  • Radio journalism: Five to ten minutes in length, with a maximum of ten minutes. And no more than fifteen megabytes for documentaries or talk shows;
  • Television Journalism: A documentary or discussion show with a minimum runtime of five minutes, a maximum runtime of ten minutes, and a maximum file size of fifteen megabytes.
  • Online/new media: Features/articles published in magazines, and respected journals. And major newspapers (including online editions) with a word count of at least 700 and up to 1,500 words.


An online entry form is provided through this link

Application Deadline

Submitted entries must have been published or broadcasted between 1 January 2023 and 31 December 2023

The deadline for submissions is reach 31 January 2024, at the COMESA Secretariat.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here