UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024 (Up to $100,000 Prize) | How to Apply Now

The UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award is presented every year to an individual, group, or organization that has demonstrated exceptional dedication and service to displaced individuals or stateless people. Starting from 2017, the award also acknowledges several regional winners each year.

UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award

The award is named in honor of the renowned Norwegian explorer and humanitarian, Fridtjof Nansen. Through its recipients, the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award seeks to exemplify Nansen’s principles of resilience and dedication in challenging circumstances.”


  • The recipient of the global award in 2023 was presented with a special medal and a cash prize of US$100,000 to be utilized for reinvestment in their recognized humanitarian efforts. Additionally, regional winners were also provided with financial or material assistance to advance their humanitarian work.

Eligibility criteria

  • Nominees may consist of individuals, groups, or organizations.
  • Their efforts must directly and positively impact the lives of forcibly displaced or stateless individuals.
  • Their work is connected to a significant displacement situation or concern.
  • This year, we particularly encourage nominations related to statelessness, climate, sports, solutions, and inclusion, but we are open to other topics.
  • They dedicate considerable time and effort to support forcibly displaced or stateless people, surpassing their expected responsibilities.
  • They can effectively carry out an appropriate project with the prize money (US$100,000 for the global winner, US$25,000 for regional honorees).
  • They possess three strong references.

Selection Criteria

  • The action for which the individual or organization is nominated should occur outside of their usual professional responsibilities and exceed typical expectations.
  • It should show bravery, empathy, and unity.
  • It should bring attention to the challenges faced by displaced people.
  • It should embody the principles embraced by UNHCR.

Nomination process

  • All individuals are welcome to propose a candidate for the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award, and previous nominees who did not win are eligible for re-nomination.
  • The most persuasive nominations will provide a detailed account of the nominee’s work and accomplishments in aiding displaced or stateless individuals, along with three credible endorsements to validate their impact and character. These endorsements should not all be from the same organization or group.
  • Self-nominations should be avoided, and current or former UNHCR employees are not eligible for nomination.
  • The deadline for submitting nominations is midnight CET on March 20, 2024, and late submissions will not be considered.
  • Nominations can be submitted in English, Spanish, French, and Arabic using the online application form.

Visit the official website of the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award.

Application Deadline

March 20, 2024.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here