UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 (Up to $10,000 Available) | Apply Now!

We’re thrilled to announce that nominations are now open for the UN FAO Innovation Award 2024! Established during the FAO Conference’s Forty-second session in June 2021, this award seeks to honor groundbreaking innovations within the FAO’s mandate, encompassing a wide range of recipients including members and non-state partners.

UN FAO Innovation Award

UN FAO Innovation Award 2024

Agricultural innovation plays a pivotal role in enhancing effectiveness, competitiveness, and resilience within specific contexts, thereby contributing to food security, nutrition, economic development, and sustainable natural resource management.

Whether introducing new products, processes, or organizational methods, innovation is about tackling challenges in fresh, creative ways or addressing new problems with proven solutions.

Award Details:

The successful applicant will receive:

  • A scroll recognizing their achievements and/or award
  • A cash prize of USD 10,000


  • The FAO Award for Innovation welcomes nominations for groundbreaking innovations within FAO’s mandate from various entities including members, institutions, individuals, international/regional organizations, academic or research entities, civil society organizations, and private sector entities.
  • Innovations may span areas such as agri-food systems, digital agriculture, biotechnology, sustainable production practices like Agroecology, new business models, and more.


Award-specific criteria include:

  • Impact across multiple levels of the supply chain
  • Strengthening the link between agricultural producers and consumers through innovative mechanisms General criteria encompass:
  • Quality and merit of the innovation
  • Potential benefit, impact, and sustainability
  • Accessibility and affordability
  • Scalability
  • Value for money
  • Engagement of youth (under 35), women, and marginalized groups

Nomination process

Nominations should provide concrete elements and information, either electronically through the form or via mail at FAO- [email protected].

For further details and submission, visit the FAO Awards webpage.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here