SADC Media Awards Competition 2024 (US$2,500 Prize) – APPLY NOW

The 2024 edition of the SADC Media Awards Competition, is now open! The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Media Awards program was founded in the year 1996 to recognize the best media work in disseminating information on SADC towards supporting the process of regional cooperation and integration.

SADC Media Awards Competition 2024
SADC Media Awards Competition 2024

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community with up to 16 Member States. These member states include; Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, and the United Republic of Tanzania.

SADC itself was established in 1992, with a commitment to Regional Integration and poverty eradication within Southern Africa through economic development and ensuring peace and security.

SADC Media Awards Categories

Entries are invited from the following categories:

  1. Print Journalism: Comprising features/articles published in newspapers, newsletters, websites, and magazines. Submissions should have a minimum of 100 and a maximum of 2,000 words.
  2. Radio Journalism: Comprising broadcast material. Broadcast material should have a minimum duration of one minute and a maximum of thirty minutes. The Entries must be attached with a soft copy of the transcript in Word format for translation purposes.
  3. Television Journalism: Comprising televised material. Broadcast material should have a minimum duration of one minute and a maximum of forty-five minutes.
  4. Photojournalism: Comprising published pictures with a caption. Photographic entries should have one photo or a pictorial spread of not more than twenty photos published in one issue/edition. Each entry must include the original newspaper in which the photo(s) were published.

Benefits of SADC Media Awards 2024

The first prize winner in each of the four categories mentioned above will receive up to US$2,500

The runner-up receives US$1,000. Please note that this prize is not only a recognition of your talent but also a financial boost.

Eligibility requirements for SADC Media Awards

Would you like to participate in this competition, if yes, you must meet the  eligibility requirements below to be considered eligible:

  • Candidates must be journalists from the SADC Member States.
  • Entries are expected to have been published/broadcast between January and December of the year preceding the awards (2023) by a registered or
  • An authorized media house or agency or carried on a website of a registered and/or authorized media house or agency in any of the SADC Member States.
  • The entries theme must center on issues and activities that promote Regional Integration in the SADC region, such as infrastructure, economy, water, culture, sports, agriculture, etc.
  • Media practitioners who are SADC nationals are allowed to participate in the competition, however, those in institutions contracted by SADC and the SADC Secretariat staff, are not included
  • Prospective Submissions should be in one of the SADC working languages (English, Portuguese, French), or another SADC Region national language
  • The works must be submitted together with the transcript in one of the three SADC working languages, i.e. English, French, and Portuguese.

How to Apply for the SADC Media Awards Competition 2024

Application Deadline

The application deadline for the SADC Media Awards 2024 is February 29, 2024.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here