QARIB Journalism Awards 2023 – Apply Now

The Qarib Journalism Awards 2023 aim to recognize and promote exceptional journalism that amplifies the voices of underrepresented individuals and sheds light on important societal issues. These awards seek to prioritize coverage related to women, marginalized groups, and environmental concerns, all while upholding the highest ethical and journalistic standards.

QARIB Journalism Awards

By challenging stereotypes and addressing the lack of representation in media, the Qarib Journalism Awards hope to inspire positive change in journalism. This post seeks to explore the Qarib Journalism Awards 2023, its eligibility Criteria, benefits, and application process. Keep reading to learn more about the prestigious award.

Categories for QARIB Journalism Awards 2023

The QARIB Journalism Awards 2023, is organized in the following categories;

  • Awards for the Best coverage of security and politics by female journalists
  • Awards for best business and economy reporting by female journalists
  • The Best reporting on climate change and the environment
  • For the best coverage of minorities


Each of the categories will have up to three winners selected:

  • First Place: 2000 USD
  • Second Place: 1500 USD
  • Third Place: 1000 USD

Up to 15 winners will be honored during a ceremony in Amman on October 12th, 2023. All the expenses related to participating in the Qarib program will be covered.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligible to apply for the QARIB Journalism Awards include journalists from Palestine, Jordan, Lebanon, and Iraq. All freelance journalists, teams of journalists, and staff journalists from media outlets from the above-listed countries are eligible.

The award is also open to all journalistic formats such as videos, print and online articles, radio reports, and podcasts as well as TV and multimedia reports, columns, feature and investigative reports.

The Submitted contributions should  have been published between November 2022 and 01 August 2023 (end of the application period)

Selection Criteria

  • Representation: The extent to which the reporting represents marginalized voices and topics, particularly those of women, socioeconomically and ethnically marginalized groups as well as climate change-related issues.
  • Originality: Preference is given to original, creative, and innovative approaches to format and reporting, specifically, reporting that goes beyond stereotypes and challenges traditional narratives.
  • Accuracy and depth of the reporting: The awards recognize the ethical Standards of reporting such as impartiality, fairness, and balance.
  • Public Service: Considerations are given to reporting that aligns with the public interest, particularly by providing valuable information and analysis to the public.

How to Apply for QARIB Journalism Awards 2023?

Follow the steps below to apply for QARIB Journalism Awards 2023:


  • Application Deadline: August 01, 2023, at 08:00 PM Amman
  • Notification of winners: 15 September 2023
  • Award ceremony: 12 October 2023 in Amman.


Who can participate in the Qarib Journalism Awards?

The Qarib Journalism Awards are open to journalists from around the world. While the awards prioritize the work of journalists from Iraq, Palestine, Jordan, and Lebanon, journalists from any country can participate as long as their work aligns with the objectives of the awards.

How are the winners selected?

The winners of the Qarib Journalism Awards are selected by a panel of esteemed judges with extensive experience in journalism. The judges evaluate the entries based on specific criteria, including the quality of reporting, the impact of the story, and its relevance to underrepresented voices and critical societal issues.

Are there cash prizes for the winners?

Yes, the Qarib Journalism Awards provide cash prizes to the winners in each category. The cash prizes are designed to recognize the outstanding work of journalists and support their continued efforts in producing impactful journalism.

How can journalists from Iraq, Palestine, Jordan, and Lebanon apply?

Journalists from Iraq, Palestine, Jordan, and Lebanon can apply for the Qarib Journalism Awards through the official website. The submission process involves filling out an online form and uploading the journalistic piece according to the specified guidelines.


The Qarib Journalism Awards 2023 are a testament to the commitment to excellence, diversity, and social progress in journalism. By recognizing and promoting exceptional reporting that amplifies underrepresented voices and addresses critical issues, these awards contribute to a more inclusive and impactful media landscape. Through the power of storytelling, journalists have the ability to challenge stereotypes, inspire change, and shape a better future for all.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here