Everything you Need to Know About CISA Certification – How to Pass Exam

Everything you Need to Know About CISA Certification

CISA certification is a globally recognized credential that signifies expertise in information systems auditing, control, and security. CISA stands for certified information systems auditor. To qualify for CISA certification, candidates must have at least five years of experience in IS audit, control, or security, and they must pass an exam administered by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA).


What Benefits will you receive from Earning CISA Certification Status?

CISA-certified professionals are in high demand by employers around the world. The benefits of earning a certification as a certified information systems auditor include greater job security, increased earnings potential, heightened professional stature and distinction, and expanded career opportunities.

In addition, CISA certification can help you to better understand and manage risk, protect your organization’s assets, and ensure compliance with regulations. With so many advantages, it’s no wonder that the CISA credential is one of the most sought-after certifications in the IT industry. In this article, we have discussed some of the common benefits of  CISA training.

A Respected Standard in the Industry

Earning your CISA certification will give you the recognition and respect of your peers, as well as potential employers. The ISACA certifications are globally recognized as the standard of excellence for those who audit, monitor, control, and assess an organization’s information technology and business systems.

Improved Job Opportunities

With the increased demand for certified information systems auditors, holding certified information systems auditor certification can give you a competitive edge when seeking better job opportunities. In addition, many employers require CISA certification as a condition of employment, so earning your certification may be necessary to advance your career.

Increased Earning Potential

According to the 2019 ISACA Salary Survey, CISA-certified professionals earn an average of 8% more than their non-certified counterparts. In addition, bonuses and other forms of compensation are often tied to certification status, so becoming CISA certified could lead to a bigger paycheck.

Enhanced Professional Knowledge

Preparing for the CISA exam requires a thorough understanding of information systems auditing concepts and practices. In addition, studying and online training for the exam can help you expand your knowledge and improve your professional skills.

Improved Job Satisfaction

CISA certification can help you feel confident and prepared in your role as an information systems auditor. Earning your ISACA CISA can also give you a sense of accomplishment and pride in your profession. In turn, these factors can lead to increased job satisfaction.

How can you Qualify for CISA Certification?

CISA-certified individuals typically work in internal audit, IT audit, information security, or management roles. To qualify for the certified information systems auditor certification, candidates must have

  • At least five years of cumulative paid work experience in one or more of the five CISA job practice areas.
  • In addition, candidates must pass an exam administered by the ISACA.

The CISA exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions. It covers four domains: information systems auditing process, governance and management of IT, information systems acquisition, development and implementation, and information systems operations, maintenance, and support. Candidates have four hours to complete the exams after paying the CISA certification cost. In addition, to maintain their certification, CISAs must earn 120 continuing professional education (CPE) credits every three years and pay an annual maintenance fee.

CISA Experience Requirements

The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) is a federal agency that is responsible for protecting the nation’s critical infrastructure from cyberattacks. In order to qualify for the CISA eligibility criteria for a position at CISM, candidates must have at least three years of paid professional experience in the cyber security or information technology field.

Additionally, candidates must possess strong communication and writing skills, as well as the ability to work independently. CISA also prefers candidates with experience working in a government or military setting. Those who meet the minimum qualifications will be required to complete a written exam, an interview, and a background check.


The exam is designed to test one’s knowledge and understanding of the ISACA’s standard body of knowledge for information security professionals.

  • It is a multiple-choice, computer-based exam that is offered four times per year.
  • The exam consists of 150 questions.
  • Candidates are given four hours to complete it.
  • In order to pass the exam, candidates must achieve a score of at least 70%.
  • For those who do not get the required passing score, there is a six-month waiting period before they are allowed to retake it.

However, you will be happy to know that there is no upper limit on the number of times you can retake the exam.


Certified information systems auditors who are CISA credential holders have demonstrated their cyber security skills and knowledge in managing and auditing information systems. As a result, the career outlook for CISAs is positive, with high demand for qualified professionals in the field of information security. CISAs are often employed by large organizations, government agencies, and consulting firms. With the ever-growing importance of data security, CISAs will continue to be in high demand in the coming years.

Check This Out:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here