TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award 2024 (Up to $4,000)

The annual TWAS Fellow Samira Omar Award, created to honor scientists from least developed countries for their impactful work in environment and biodiversity, is generously funded by Professor Omar.

TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award

TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award

In 2024, the award will specifically focus on recognizing women scientists. The challenges our planet and existence face include world population, food security, climate change, biodiversity loss, water scarcity, poor sanitation, and energy resources. Sustainability requires us to carefully balance the finite resources of Earth with human lifestyles to ensure our continued existence at a sustainable level.

This topic is central to many international conversations, with the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals, established in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda, highlighting the need to acknowledge that our actions today impact future generations. The SDGs are a significant global effort to address sustainability challenges. The “Innovation for Sustainability” Award seeks to commend scientists who contribute to multidisciplinary fields directly related to sustainable science.

Thematic Area

The 2024 award will be presented to a female scientist from a Least Developed Country (LDC) who has resided and worked in an LDC during the two years leading up to her nomination. The award will recognize her scientific accomplishments in one of the following thematic areas:

  • Clean and renewable energy
  • Green chemistry
  • Sustainable agriculture and agrobiodiversity
  • Plastic: degradation, pollution and microplastics
  • Water purification and sanitation
  • Climate change: environmental effects, methane contribution, carbon capture
  • Transportation technologies: efficiency for smart cities
  • Waste management
  • The current global decline in biodiversity, including the potential for a significant extinction event, the importance of ecosystem services, efforts towards habitat recovery, and the restoration of natural habitats.
  • Ecological economics and planetary health.


  • The prize includes a monetary award of $4,000 graciously donated by Professor Omar.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Open exclusively to women scientists.
  • Nominations made by oneself or by members of the jury will not be taken into consideration.
  • Fellows of TWAS are not eligible.

Nomination Process

To have a valid nomination, it must include the following details and materials:

  • The contact details of the individual who is submitting the nomination.
  • Contact information of the nominee (self-nominations are not accepted) along with general information about the nominee.
  • Authorization from the nominee, granting permission to process their personal data for the nomination process, in compliance with the provisions of Article 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. Only the online platform can be used to submit this authorization. The privacy authorization form is available in the “nominee’s personal data” section for downloading. The form must be filled out and signed by the nominee and then uploaded back to the online platform.
  • A suggested citation consisting of 15-20 words that highlight the nominee’s scientific achievements.
  • A supporting statement that provides detailed information about the nominee’s contribution. This should include a comprehensive explanation of the candidate’s work and its significance within the relevant scientific context. It is important to clearly state the scientific impact of the nominee’s work. Vague statements will not be considered and may negatively impact the evaluation.
  • A clear and comprehensive account of any time the nominee has spent abroad within the past two years.
  • Information about the nominee’s PhD, including the subject area, year of completion, and the institution that granted the degree.
  • Brief information about the nominee’s membership in academies and societies.
  • Brief information about any awards and honors received by the nominee.
  • A list of the 10 most significant publications by the nominee, following an internationally acceptable format.
  • The nominee’s brief curriculum vitae (CV) and a complete list of their publications should also be uploaded separately onto the online platform.
  • The nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and the corresponding number of citations.

To nominate click here  

Visit the official website of TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award .

Application Deadline

May 10, 2024.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here