Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2024 | Apply Now!

Applications are currently open for the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2024. Established by UN General Assembly Resolution 35/201 in December 1980, the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship. Formerly known as the DPI Training Programme for Broadcasters and Journalists from Developing Countries. Was renamed in 2003 in memory of Reham Al-Farra. A Jordanian public information officer tragically killed in the bombing of the UN headquarters in Baghdad on August 19, 2003.

Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2024
Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2024

This fellowship presents a unique opportunity for the young. Active journalists from developing countries and economies in transition to cover the United Nations. Held annually at UN Headquarters in New York during the autumn. The program invites a select group of journalists to report on the opening of the General Assembly for their respective news outlets.

Over three weeks, fellows have the chance to attend specialized briefings, conduct interviews with senior officials, and engage in discussions with colleagues from across the globe. In past years, RAF Fellows have had the privilege of meeting with the UN Secretary-General. Deputy Secretary-General, President of the General Assembly, and Permanent Representatives of the United Nations.

Additionally, the program organizes visits to various news organizations such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and ProPublica.

Since its inception in 1981, the fellowship has been awarded to 652 journalists from 168 countries. Upon completion of the program, fellows are expected to continue their journalistic work and promote a deeper understanding of the United Nations within their home countries. The program does not provide basic skills training, as all fellows are practising journalists.

Eligibility Criteria 

  • Open to full-time working journalists aged between 22 and 35 who are nationals. And residents of countries with developing economies or economies in transition.
  • Fellows must be citizens of one of the eligible countries listed below and employed full-time by a news outlet based there.
  • Eligible countries include Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine (State of), Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Türkiye, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
  • Applications from freelance journalists will be considered, provided they submit strong work samples relevant to the United Nations’ priorities and, where applicable, documentation of their press accreditation.

Application Requirements

  • Three (3) published work samples related to international affairs. With a summary in English if not in one of the six official UN languages.
  • Curriculum vitae in English or French.
  • Completed application with well-crafted responses to the open-ended questions.

Application Deadline

The application deadline is March 15, 2024

How to Apply

To apply, click here. You can also click here for more information.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here