Maria Moors Cabot Prizes  for Journalists 2024 (Up to $5,000 Prize) | Apply Now

The Maria Moors Cabot Prizes seeks outstanding and courageous journalism that has a meaningful impact on society, as well as a demonstrated commitment to covering important stories over a long and distinguished career.

Maria Moors Cabot Prizes  for Journalists 2024
Maria Moors Cabot Prizes  for Journalists 2024

They are particularly interested in recognizing journalists and news organizations that have consistently contributed to promoting understanding across the Americas through their coverage. The board also aims to honor journalists who have actively defended freedom of the press in the Americas.

The Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, established in 1938 by Godfrey Lowell Cabot in memory of his wife, are the oldest international awards in journalism. These prizes acknowledge journalists and news organizations with a distinguished body of work that has advanced Inter-American understanding.


The honorees are revealed during the summer and will be granted a Cabot medal and a $5,000 honorarium. Additionally, special commendations may also be presented.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Journalists and/or news executives employed by news organizations in the Western Hemisphere or any press association or news service serving such an organization;
  • Other individuals, such as freelance journalists, with a substantial history of reporting on the region;
  • All media platforms, including online publications.

How To Apply For Maria Moors Cabot Prizes For Journalists 2024

Accepted file formats include .doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf, .jpg, .xls. Digital presentations can be submitted as links.

Kindly upload each of the following documents and provide active links for digital presentations:

  • Nominee’s biography and/or CV detailing their education, professional experience, and public service involvement, along with relevant dates.
  • A statement or nomination letter outlining the nominee’s contributions to international understanding in the Western Hemisphere.
  • Career highlights, work samples. Selection of at least five but no more than ten (unless authorized otherwise) written articles, books, television or radio programs, or online stories that best illustrate the nominee’s career or body of work. Please curate content that showcases the nominee’s strengths over time.
  • Please include functional direct links to any media.
  • Self-nominations are accepted.
  • Nominations should be signed by the person submitting them.
  • One to three letters from third parties explaining why the nominee is particularly deserving of the prize are also encouraged. Please note that supporting materials such as books will not be returned.

To apply, click here.

Visit the official website of Maria Moors Cabot Prizes For Journalists for additional information.

Application Deadline

March 16, 2024.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here