ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship 2023 For African Students – Apply Now

Applications are open for the 15th edition of the ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship 2023 for African students! The West African Internet Governance Forum (WAIGF) and its team, is partnering with the ECOWAS Commission in organizing the WAIGF, scheduled to commence from 25 to 26 May 2023.

ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship

ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship Curriculum

The African School on Internet Governance Scholarship combines rigorous learning activities for a period of three (3) days, this is aimed at introducing participants to Internet governance (IG) from the global and West African perspectives.

During the program, Participants will be engaged in discussions with experts in the field and also have the opportunity to participate in the policy and regulation initiative for Digital Africa’s Virtual training platform.

Upon completing the scholarship training program, certificates will be given to participants. The school will focus on the following key areas:

  • The Evolution of the Internet and the history of Internet Governance
  • Internet Governance processes and actors
  • The classification of Internet Governance issues such as: infrastructure, legal, economic, and development, from African contexts
  • Internet Governance issue affecting West Africa

Summary of the ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship

  • Title: ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship
  • Sponsored By: ECOWAS
  • Country: Cote d’Ivoire
  • Duration: 25 to 26 May 2023.
  • Gender: Men and Women
  • Application Deadline: March 31, 2023

Benefits and Rewards of the ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship

Participants who complete the training will be issued a certificate

Application Process for ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship 2023?

  • Interested Women and youth are highly particularly encouraged to apply.
  • Applicants should note that Spaces are limited.
  • To apply, fill out the online form on:, to be submitted by 1st April 2023.
  • For further information on WAIGF and WASIG, please visit the official website on:

Eligibility Criteria for ECOWAS WASIG Scholarship 2023

  • Open to prospective Candidates from West Africa.
  • Ideal Candidates must be persons who are involved as key stakeholders or decision-makers in Internet governance or ICT policy processes in their communities.
  • Applicants are expected to contribute to Internet Governance activities or processes within their institutions, countries, continent,s and the world at large.
  • Candidates are expected to be from all stakeholder groups such as:
  • Youth and Women groups
  • Civil society
  • Private Sector
  • Media
  • Government offices and Regulatory agencies
  • Security and Defence forces
  • Academia and technical community
  • Archives, Libraries, and Documentation centers
  • Parliament
  • West African regional institutions

Brief History Of ECOWAS

Commonly referred to as ECOWAS, the  Economic Community of West African States, is one of the pillar regional blocs of the continent-wide African Economic Community (AEC). It’s also referred to as CEDEAO in French.

In 2015, the Organization had an estimated population of over 349 million. It has a stated goal of achieving collective self-sufficiency for its members.

Application Deadline

March 31, 2023.

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here