WhatsApp Adds View Once Feature to Immediately Erase Photos and Videos. WhatsApp happens to roll out an interesting new feature that remains commonly found on alternative privacy-centric messaging apps: disappearing videos and photos. The feature often offers users more control over the media that they are sharing with others. this enables them to send contents that are potentially sensitive to others without it remaining in the chat indefinitely.
WhatsApp Adds View Once Feature to Immediately Erase Photos and Videos
This interesting new feature is given the name view once, and it would work similarly to Snapchat’s snaps. Once viewed, the content would later disappear from the chat automatically. WhatsApp provides examples of how view Once might be very useful for users. It includes sending an image of your WiFi password, and it would delete itself entirely from the chat once it has been viewed by the receiver.
WhatsApp New Icon
A view Once video or a Photo would further appear in the chat with an icon that is unique. And this makes it clear that the users would need to pay attention once they open it. Once it has open, the message would appear as an ‘Opened’ View Once the message is in the chat with the timestamp, but without actual media.
WhatsApp notes that the view once images and videos are, like the remaining part of the chat, secured with end-to-end encryption. This feature remains similar to one that is offered by competing messaging apps, although it is more robust options are available for all those who want more control throughout the entire content.
Wickr Me, for example, would allow users to place a timer right on their messages so that they disappear after a period of time. Regardless, WhatsApp remains an app that is more popular than these alternatives and any other additional privacy features that is a welcome expansion. As stated by WhatsApp, the view Once feature would be rolling out to the entire users that would be kicking of this week.