What’s the difference between deactivating and deleting your account on Facebook, do you have any idea? The matter of deactivating one’s account and deleting it on the Facebook social media platform has always caused a stir among users who don’t really understand the topic.
What’s The Difference between Deactivating and Deleting Your Account on Facebook
Facebook wants you to stay on the platform and spend lots of valuable hours. But one thing the platform will always do is that they will not hold you back when you decide to finally leave the platform or take a break from it. In fact, the social media platform will even give you the options that you need to successfully leave the platform on a permanent basis in taking a break from the platform temporarily.
Taking a break from social media platforms is very important and has lots of health benefits. And this is where the terms of deactivating your account and deleting your account on Facebook come in. To take us further this post, I will be telling you what it means to deactivate your account on Facebook and also what it takes t delete your account on the platform.
Deactivating your account on Facebook simply means putting your account on temporary freeze. This means that you can always retrieve it when you want. Deleting your account on the other hand is permanent.
This means that you cannot get access to the account after the deletion process is complete. The process of deactivating your Facebook account is reversible. But the process of deleting your account on Facebook is not.
What Happens When You Deactivate Your Facebook Account
Just as mentioned already in this post, the process of deactivating one’s account is reversible. Below is a summary of what happens to your account on the platform when you deactivate it;
- You can select to retrieve or reactivate your account whenever you want.
- When you deactivate your account, other Facebook users cannot see your timeline or search for you.
- Some pieces of information such as the message you sent to others will remain visible.
- You also will not be able to use your Facebook account in accessing oculus products or even your oculus information.
- Pages on the platform that only you control will be deactivated also. And if your page is deactivated people will not be able to see your page or find it when they search for it.
if however, you do not want your page on the platform to be deactivated you can give full control of it to someone else on the platform. This will then make you deactivate your account on the platform without deactivating your page.
What Happens When You Delete Your Facebook Account
When you delete your Facebook account you cannot get it back again once the deletion process is complete. Below is a full summary is what will happen to your account on Facebook once you delete it;
- You cannot regain access to your account once it is deleted.
- The deletion of your account will be delayed for a few days after it is requested. A deletion request of your account will be canceled if you log back into your account on Facebook during this time.
- Some pieces of information such as history is not stored in your account. This simply means that your friends on the platform may still have access to the messages that you sent after your account has been deleted.
- Copies of some materials such as log records may remain in Facebook’s database but are dissociated from personal identifiers.
- Just in case you logged into oculus with your Facebook account information, then your oculus information will also be deleted. This is inclusive of your app purchases and also your achievements. You also will no longer be able to return any apps and you will also lose any of your existing store credits.
- Pages that you control all by yourself will also be deleted.
If however, you don’t want your page to be deleted permanently, you can transfer the full control of your page to someone else. Doing this will delete your account without deleting your page.