Finally, an Instagram app running on iOS is adding a Deletion Feature that would enable users to delete their accounts using an iPhone. Until this moment, users had to rely mainly on desktop clients or open Instagram in a mobile browser in order for them to permanently erase their accounts.
The Instagram App is Adding a Deletion Feature Finally
Also Check: Wear OS 3 – Features and Every Detail you Need to…
The move comes in the wake of a broader Apple app store policy change that took effect on June 30, ordering the developers to offer an account deletion system in their apps if the app allows users to create an account.
Apple stated that this new requirement would grant the users “More control over the personal data that they shared.” With the account deletion, Apple stated that the account would be erased totally from the developers’ records, and all the data associated with it are to be wiped. The company made it clear that only allowing users to temporarily deactivate their accounts is no longer sufficient.
Deactivate Instagram Account
The Instagram app on Mobile devices is already offering the option to deactivate accounts, but so far, a parallel option for permanently deleting their profile has not been available on the app. “We are looking to give people more ways to control their experience and time spent on Instagram,” A Meta spokesperson was quoted as saying by TechCrunch.
Also Read: How to Limit RAM and CPU Usage in Opera GX
Before heading to the steps and information involved in deleting an Instagram account, first, you need to be aware of what happens after. If you delete your account, all your information, listed on your profile alongside the videos, photos, and comments that are associated with it would be erased permanently.
How to Delete Instagram Account
Unlike the process of deactivating your account, deletion simply means that your account data cannot be recovered even if you choose to create a new account using the same username, Linked email, or phone number at some point in the future.
You can However choose to download a copy of your Instagram data, which includes the post and photos, but it might take up to 14 days for the platform to email the link to you, so you need to be prepared in advance. With those warnings out of the way, below I would be giving you the details involved in how to delete your account on the Instagram app:
- Launch the Instagram app and then tap on the profile icon that would appear right in the bottom right corner of the screen
- Once the profile you would like to delete is selected, tap on the Hamburger menu icon at the top right corner
- Then on the menu window that pops up, tap on the Settings option
- On the settings page, tap on Account.
- You would see a new option that states “Delete Account”
- When you tap on delete Account, Instagram will ask you if you want to delete your account if you just simply want to disable it temporarily. Select Delete account and you are set.
It would take about 30 days to process the account deletion request. So, if you choose to change your mind within that span, you can stop the process by just simply opening the app within the 30 days deletion period.
Also Read: Google Just Made It Easier to Switch From iOS to Android