Do you know how to deactivate your Facebook account? When you finally decide that the time has reached for you to call time on your stay on Facebook, then this article is for you. When you think it’s time to make a decision like this, then you should either delete your Facebook account or deactivate it.
How to Deactivate Your Facebook
Deactivating Facebook and deleting it are completely two separate things. When you delete your Facebook account, you will not be able to access it and all your information on the platform will be lost.
On the other hand, if you deactivate your account, you will be able to return back to it from where you left off. But since this article is all about how you can deactivate your Facebook account, I won’t be writing on how to delete your Facebook account permanently.
What Happens When You Deactivate Your Facebook Account
People normally don’t know about this action on the platform. They normally mistake deactivating an account to deleting of account. These things are usually different from one another. When you deactivate your account on Facebook, it is temporary. You can come back to the account whenever you chose to.
When your account is deactivated no one else can see your profile; messages you have sent on the platform will still be visible to other users. Your friends on the platform will still see your name on their list. Your posts, comments, and name on groups will still be seen by group admins.
If you are logged in to messenger at the time of your account deactivation, your messenger will still be active. When your account is deactivated but you are still active on messenger, then you can still chat with friends. Your profile picture will still be visible in your conversations and lastly, other people can search for you to send you a message. All this will only take place in the messenger app.
How to Deactivate Facebook Account
To deactivate your Facebook account;
Deactivate your Facebook account on Computer
- Click on the arrow icon at the top right corner of your account page.
- Click on settings.
- Select ‘General’ in the left column.
- Click on manage your account.
- Click on deactivate your account and follow the on-screen instructions to confirm
How to Deactivate Your Facebook account on Android App
- Tap on the three horizontal icons on the Facebook app page.
- Tap on settings and privacy and then tap on settings.
- Next, tap on personal information and then manage the account.
- On the next page that loads, click on Deactivate and follow the on-screen instructions.
That’s all about deactivating your Facebook account. To reactivate your account is very easy. All you have to do is to re-login to your account. You will need to have access to your email or phone number with which you created the account in order to reactivate your account.