Marvel Movies In Order: Chronological Order of Marvel Movies

Watching the Marvel Movies In Order is usually great fun, with narrative threads sometimes taking years to pay off.

And patience being rewarded with amazing endings to ongoing character arcs.  Movies such as MCU that have a long thread can be confusing when not watched properly.

Marvel Movies In Order

Getting the storyline is why we ought to follow the thread. In this article, I’ll be guiding you on how to watch Marvel Movies In Order of release. As well as in the order of chronological.

Marvel Movies In Order

I’ll suggest using the Disney Plus service to watch the Marvel Movies In Order. It provides a great user experience since it makes the movie available in 4K

WandaVision which was released recently is the first of many canonical MCU TV shows. Others like The Falcon and the Winter Soldier will arrive soon.

How To Watch Marvel Movie In Order

Basically, there are two major ways to watch this movie orderly. These include the chronological and the release method.

The chronological begins with First Avenger. While the release started with Iron Man released in 2008. And this introduced Robert Downey Jr’s Tony Stark to the world.

Chronological Order of Marvel Movies

It started in WWII with Captain America: The First Avenger and Spider-Man Far From Home.

Watching Marvel Movies In Order of chronological is simple. The event is played out according to how it happened.

Below is the list of Marvel Movies In Order of chronological:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (takes place during WWII)
  • Captain Marvel (takes place in 1995).
  • Iron Man (takes place in 2010).
  • Iron Man 2 (takes place after Iron Man).
  • The Incredible Hulk (time unspecified, pre-Avengers).
  • Thor (takes place six months before Avengers).
  • The Avengers (takes place in 2012).
  • Iron Man 3 (takes place six months after The Avengers).
  • Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron).
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron).
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (sometime in 2014).
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians).
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (takes place in 2015).
  • Ant-Man (takes place in 2015).
  • Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War).
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War).
  • Doctor Strange (takes place in 2016).
  • Black Panther (takes place in 2017).
  • Thor: Ragnarok (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War).
  • Avengers: Infinity War (takes place in 2017).
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (ambiguous, but fits nicely between IW and Endgame).
  • Avengers: Endgame (starts in 2017, finishes in 2022).
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (eight months post-Endgame).
  • WandaVision.

WandaVision, meanwhile, actually takes place before Spider-Man: Far From Home:

There are few other Marvel movies to be released. And they all will follow this thread and watched how they are released.

Release Order of Marvel Movies

This order begins with Iron Man 2008 and ends with Avengers: Endgame and SpiderMan: Far From Home in 2019.

It is a better option to watch Marvel Movies in this Order

MCU story was basically meant to be watched in this order. Below is the list of Marvel Movies In Order of release:

Phase One

  • Iron Man (2008).
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008).
  • Iron Man 2 (2010).
  • Thor (2011).
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011).
  • Marvel’s The Avengers (2012).

Phase Two

  • Iron Man 3 (2013).
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013).
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014).
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014).
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015).
  • Ant-Man (2015).

Phase Three

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016).
  • Doctor Strange (2016).
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017).
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017).
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017).
  • Black Panther (2018).
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018).
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018).
  • Captain Marvel (2019).
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019).
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019).

Phase Four

  • WandaVision (TV show – currently releasing weekly).
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (TV show – March 19, 2021).
  • Black Widow (May 7, 2021).
  • Loki (TV show – May 2021).
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (July 9, 2021).
  • The Eternals (November 5, 2021).
  • Ms Marvel (TV show – late 2021).
  • Untitled third Spider-Man movie (December 17, 2021).
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (March 25, 2022).
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (May 6, 2022).
  • Black Panther 2 (July 8, 2022).
  • Captain Marvel 2 (November 11, 2022)

The future of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, including TV shows

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp Quantumania (TBD).
  • Blade (TBD).
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (TBD).
  • Fantastic Four (TBD).
  • Hawkeye (TV show – TBA).
  • She-Hulk (TV show – TBA).
  • Moon Knight (TV show – TBA).
  • Secret Invasion (TV show – TBA).
  • Ironheart (TV show – TBA).
  • Armor Wars (TV show – TBA).
  • Wakanda series (TV show – TBA).

So as more Marvel Movies to be released. More research can be done on Google.

More Helpful Posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here