UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2024 (Up $150,000 Total prize)

UNESCO is currently open to receiving nominations for the 2024 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes. They are actively encouraging literacy experts to submit applications and urging organizations to nominate candidates from diverse regions across the globe.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2024
UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2024

Similar to past editions, the organization will present six awards to individuals or entities with outstanding projects that enhance literacy education. This year, they request programs to focus on the theme “Promoting multilingual education: Literacy for mutual understanding and peace.”

The selected theme underlines the importance of utilizing a first-language-based, multilingual approach in today’s world, where multilingualism is prevalent. This approach can contribute to fostering mutual understanding, respect, and solidarity, while also strengthening communal identities and shared histories.

For more than five decades, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have been recognizing excellence and innovation in the literacy field. With over 518 projects and programs acknowledged and supported globally, these prizes have celebrated remarkable contributions in this critical area of education.

About the Prizes

In 2022, an estimated 765 million adults aged 15 and older lacked basic literacy skills, representing approximately one out of seven individuals. Furthermore, a significant number of children are encountering difficulties in reaching minimum proficiency levels in reading, writing, and numeracy. About 250 million children between the ages of 6 and 18 are currently not attending school. To address this literacy gap and enhance opportunities for future learning and social engagement, UNESCO presents two prestigious literacy awards annually to six recipients:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards): Established in 1989 by the Republic of Korea. This prize recognizes programs promoting literacy in mother languages and preserving linguistic diversity.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): Established in 2005 by China. This prize honors innovative programs enhancing literacy skills in traditional and digital forms.
  • These efforts specifically target adults residing in rural regions and youth who are not attending school. The prize underscores the significance of literacy in a world where interconnected technologies are increasingly essential for participation in various aspects of life, education, and employment.


  • The award winner receives a medal, a diploma, and a cash prize of $20,000.
  • The three winners receive a medal, a diploma, and a cash prize of $30,000 each.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The application is open to all governments, non-governmental organizations, and individuals promoting literacy learning through projects and programs.
  • Applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the program’s country or an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.
  • Nominating bodies are encouraged to submit nominations of individuals, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO. 

How To Apply for UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 

Application Deadline

July 15, 2024.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here