Mülheim Water Award 2024 (Up to €10,000 Prize) | APPLY NOW

The Mülheim Water Award recognizes research and development projects that are focused on practical applications, as well as the introduction of innovative concepts for water analysis and ensuring a safe drinking water supply.

Mülheim Water Award 2024
Mülheim Water Award 2024

People or individuals from Europe and Israel are eligible to submit applications featuring innovative methods, products, concepts, and discoveries with an emphasis on practical implementation within water management. The Mülheim Water Award was established in 2006, and in the past eight competitions, over 170 applications from 25 different European countries have been received.

The awarded subject of submission for this year is centered “Innovations for a sustainable, safe and secure drinking water supply”.


The 2024 prize consists of a donation of 10,000€, contributed equally by RWW Rheinisch-Westfälische Wasserwerksgesellschaft mbH and GERSTEL GmbH & Co. KG, both based in Mülheim, Germany.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Individuals, organizations, and institutions based in Europe are eligible to submit projects focused on innovative methodologies, solutions, products, and concepts within water management. Novel discoveries with practical applicability are particularly sought after.
  • Applicants must submit their proposals and cannot be nominated or recommended by others. In the case of group submissions, a designated “leading applicant” must be named. Members of the jury are ineligible to participate.
  • Eligible applicants are those based in Europe (defined geographically, not politically) and Israel. For the Mülheim Water Award, Turkey, as well as the Caucasian countries Azerbaijan, Armenia, and Georgia, are considered part of Europe, whereas Kazakhstan is not included.
  • Due to the current political circumstances, applications from the Russian Federation and Belarus are temporarily excluded.
  • The inclusion of Israel is rooted in the extensive shared history between Europe and Israel, characterized by increasing interdependence and collaboration. Israel has also been involved in the EU’s research and technological development framework programs since 1996.
  • The geographical restriction to Europe pertains to the location of the applicant’s headquarters. In the case of group applications, at least one member of the group must have their headquarters in Europe. It is not necessary for the project being proposed to be implemented within Europe.

Selection Criteria

The project evaluation is based on the following criteria:

  • Innovation level and relevance
  • Transferability
  • Quality
  • Sustainability
  • Economic Efficiency

Application Process

  • The application process consists of two stages: the Pre-qualification phase and the Nomination phase. Only online applications using the designated Application form are accepted for the first phase(Pre-qualification phase) of the Mülheim Water Award. Any other forms of application will be denied.
  • Applicants who advance to the second phase (Nomination phase) will receive notification from the coordination office of the Mülheim Water Award and will be requested to submit additional documents.

Visit the official website of the Mülheim Water Award  for further information.

Application Deadline

February 29, 2024.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here