European Commission Lorenzo Natali Prize 2024 (Up to €10,000 prize)

The Lorenzo Natali Prize has been honoring outstanding journalism for more than thirty years as the premier journalism award of the EU, in memory of Lorenzo Natali, the former Vice-President of the European Commission who was a staunch advocate for European development policies.

European Commission Lorenzo Natali Prize

European Commission Lorenzo Natali Prize 2024

Since its inception in 1992, the Prize has highlighted narratives on significant global matters. It has acknowledged journalists who shed light on stories regarding the societal effects of climate change, digital connectivity, gender parity, human progress, employment, peace, governance, and human rights, among various other topics, and this year is no exception.


Candidates must select one of the following four categories when completing the online application form.

  • Best Emerging Journalist Award: This category is for journalists aged between 18 and 25 at submission, with entries published by a media outlet in any eligible country.
  • Investigative Journalism Award: Entries must be published by a media outlet in one of the eligible countries and focus on revealing serious issues like crimes, injustices, corruption, or corporate misconduct to the public.
  • Feature Journalism Award: Entries published by a media outlet in an eligible country should aim to entertain, educate, inform, or engage the audience. It can delve into current events, individuals, or groups, as well as explore innovative solutions to existing challenges.
  • Special Award: This category aims to showcase other forms of media. The 2024 edition will spotlight photojournalism work published by a media outlet based in an eligible country. Only single-frame photographs with a caption and a byline will be considered for this award.


Each category winner will be awarded a prize of EUR 10,000, and the Best Emerging Journalist winner will have the opportunity to participate in a work experience placement or traineeship with a media partner. The winners of the award will be announced at the Lorenzo Natali Prize Award Ceremony in Brussels in 2024.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The Lorenzo Natali Prize is open to entries in any language, but they must be accompanied by a translation in one of the five official competition languages: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, or German.
  • Submissions can take various forms, such as written articles, audio-visual content, or multimedia presentations.

The prize recognizes outstanding reporting on a range of topics, including:

  • Climate, environment and energy
  • Digital and infrastructure
  • Gender equality
  • Human development
  • Migration and forced displacement
  • Peace and governance
  • Sustainable growth and jobs
  • Youth

How To Apply

To become. For part of this prize, click on this link

For further information visit the official website of the European Commission Lorenzo Natali Prize.

Application Deadline

June 30, 2024

More Related Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here